At last night’s Irish Film and Television Awards, Element Pictures and Element Distribution took home an incredible 11 awards. Lenny Abrahamson’s NORMAL PEOPLE swept the Drama categories, bagging 9 awards in total, including: Best Director – Lenny Abrahamson, Lead Actor – Paul Mescal, and Best Script – Sally Rooney. In film, Phyllida Lloyd’s highly anticipated HERSELF won Best Script for Clare Dunne and Malcolm Campbell while Michael McCormack’s critically acclaimed BREAKING OUT, an ovation to late Irish musician Fergus O’Farrell, received the prestigious George Morrison Feature Documentary award.

On hearing the success for Element, co-founders Ed Guiney and Andrew Lowe said “All the team at Element are blown away with last night’s incredible results for Normal People, Herself and Breaking Out. We are delighted that the Academy recognised the hard work and passion that went into each of them. We can’t wait for Irish audiences to finally see Herself and Breaking Out in cinemas in the Autumn.”

NORMAL PEOPLE is currently available to stream on major platforms.

HERSELF will release to Irish and UK cinemas on 10th September and BREAKING OUT will release to cinemas later this year. 

You can find the full list of IFTA winners here.