ROOM lands two nominations at this year’s European Film Awards, which honours the greatest achievements in European Cinema.  Director Lenny Abrahamson and producer Ed Guiney are nominated for Best Film, while Emma Donoghue is nominated for Best Screenwriter. The nominations follow a slew of awards for ROOM, including 4 Oscar nominations and a best actress Oscar win for Brie Larson.

Speaking on the nominations, producer Ed Guiney commented “We are thrilled that ROOM has been recognised by the EFA’s and are so pleased that the brilliant work of Lenny and Emma is being honoured in this way.”

Guiney was previously the recipient of the European co-production award – Prix Eurimages. The winners will be announced on 10 December in Wroclaw, Poland where more than 3,000 EFA members will vote on the winners.

With a box-office total of over €1.3m in Ireland, ROOM is the No.1 Irish film released this year.

ROOM stars Brie Larson (Short Term 12, The Spectacular Now), Jacob Tremblay (The Smurfs 2, Somnia), Joan Allen (The Bourne Supremacy, Nixon) and William H. Macy (Shameless, Magnolia).  Emma Donoghue adapted the screenplay from her book, the award-winning international phenomenon, ROOM.

Told through the eyes of five-year-old-Jack (Tremblay), ROOM is a thrilling and emotional tale that celebrates the resilience and power of the human spirit. To Jack, Room is the world…. It’s where he was born, it’s where he and his Ma (Larson) eat and sleep and play and learn. But while it’s home to Jack, to Ma it’s a prison.  Through her fierce love for her son, Ma has managed to create a childhood for him in their ten-by-ten-foot space. But as Jack’s curiosity is building alongside Ma’s own desperation – she knows that Room cannot contain either indefinitely.

Element Pictures’ Ed Guiney (The Lobster, Frank, What Richard Did) produced ROOM with David Gross (What If, Goon). Executive producers are Andrew Lowe (The Lobster, Frank, The Wind that Shakes the Barley) for Element Pictures and Jeff Arkuss (What If) and Jesse Shapira (What If, Goon) for No Trace Camping. Emma Donoghue, Rose Garnett (Film 4), Tessa Ross (Film 4), and David Kosse (Film 4) also serve as executive producers. Irish finance for the film came from the Irish Film Board.